Skip to main content
Help Center

How to understand the job announcement overview

The details on the right side of the job announcement give you important information such as the application deadline, the salary, pay scale, locations, telework eligibility and more.

Open and closing date

The open date is the first day you can submit an application for the job. The closing date is the last day you can submit an application for the job—you can't submit an application after 11:59 p.m. ET (Eastern Time) on that date. Learn more about closing date types.


Each job announcement shows the starting salary and sometimes it will show a salary range. Learn more about salaries.

Pay scale and grade

This tells you the type of pay system. The federal government has different pay systems, which helps determine the salary. Learn more about pay scales and grade.

Locations and vacancies

This section lists the work location(s). Many jobs have multiple locations. It's important you verify the location is somewhere you want to work.

Some jobs have more than one vacancy per location. The number of vacancies is listed above each location.

How to filter results by location.

Remote job

Some jobs are only remote work. A remote job means you will work all the time at an approved alternative worksite away from the agency worksite. Remote jobs have the location Anywhere in the U.S. (remote job) listed.

How to filters results by remote jobs.

Telework-eligible jobs

Many federal jobs offer the option to work from home and from an office location. Sometimes this is referred to as a hybrid schedule or hybrid work, but the federal government calls this telework. How often you are required to report to an office depends on the agency and the job duties.

What is telework?

Travel required

This section describes the amount of travel the job requires.

Relocation expenses reimbursed

This tells you if the job will pay for you to relocate. Each agency has different rules for reimbursing, so it's important to ask the hiring agency which expenses are covered.

Appointment type

The appointment type tells you how long the job will last. Permanent jobs don't have a time-limit. Temporary jobs do have a time-limit, which could be two years, four years or some other amount of time. Learn more about appointment types.

Work schedule

This tells you how often you will work. Learn more about work schedules.


There are three different services in the federal government; competitive, excepted and Senior Executive Service. Each service type has different rules for how they classify jobs and hire and pay employees. Learn more about service types.

Promotion potential

Some federal jobs have multiple grade levels. This section tells you if there's an opportunity to move up to the next grade level within your pay scale.

Job family (Series)

The federal government categorizes jobs as professional or trade, crafts or labor. These groups are further categorized into series—a family of similar jobs. The series is a numbered system to categorizing jobs. This section tells you what family or series a job belongs to.

Supervisory status

This section tells you if you will supervise other employees. Yes means you will supervise at least one other person.

Security clearance

The level of security clearance required to hold this position. Learn more about security clearances.

Drug test

This tells you if you will have to take a drug test to be considered for the job.

Position sensitivity and risk

Most federal jobs are assigned sensitivity and risk levels, based on their responsibilities and duties. Sensitivity has to do with the position's potential impact on the national security. Risk level is the position's potential to damage the public's trust. Learn more about position sensitivity and risk.

Trust determination process

This tells you the type of background investigation you will undergo to determine your trustworthiness. Learn more about trust determination process.

Still need help?